Monroe Clinic Announces Area’s Top Athletic Performers

Monroe Clinic is proud to announce the results of its ninth annual athletic performance testing program. Overall, 779 athletes from twelve area schools in northern Illinois and southern Wisconsin competed against their peers in the areas of speed, power and agility.

Specifically, the four areas tested include: upper body power, lower body power, vertical jump height and agility test. The athletic performance testing program is an evaluation tool that coaches use to measure an athlete’s performance level.

“This program allows athletes to see how they compare to their peers and their competition in addition to identifying their specific strengths and weaknesses. Athletes are encouraged to use this information and apply it to their off-season workouts,” said Eric Katzenberger, ATC/LAT, Monroe Clinic’s coach of sports medicine.

Monroe Clinic offers athletic performance testing at no cost to contracted schools. Athletic performance testing is also available for a fee to area schools that do not have a contract with Monroe Clinic. The testing takes place once per year in the spring. Schools interested in the performance testing program can call 325-7529 (PLAY) for more information.


2012 Top 10 Male and Female Athletes

1.  Kyle Wescott, Brodhead, WI
  Taylor Douglas, Brodhead, WI  
2.  Ty Harmston, Stockton, IL
  Jen Wellnitz, Blackhawk HS     
3.  Alex Barenklau, Monroe, WI
  Jenessa Arnsmeier, Brodhead, WI  
4.  Riley Schuetz, Darlington, WI
  Kimberly Pink, Argyle, WI  
5.  Alex Hendrickson, Monroe, WI
  Amanda Pickle, Brodhead, WI     
6.  Ryan Hughes, Monroe, WI
  Mariah Ahrens, Brodhead, WI  
7.  TJ Knutson, Stockton, IL
  Jordan Halvorsen, Brodhead, WI
8.  Ryan Kuhlmeier, Orangeville, IL   Brianne Katzenberger, Monroe, WI     
9.  Lane Berndt, Monroe, WI
  Anika Nelson, Monroe, WI  
10.  Hunter Colden, Brodhead, WI
  Taurie Burns, Brodhead, WI  

2012 Top Male and Female Athletes by School

School Males Females
Albany Austin Ross Cassidy Bump
Argyle Alec Treuhardt Kimberly Pink
Cory Rupnow Jen Wellnitz
Brodhead Kyle Wescott Taylor Douglas
Riley Schuetz Carly Reilly
Tyler Creviston Cassie Baird
Juda Cole Bauman Molly Marass 
Monroe Alex Barenklau
Brianna Katzenberger
Monticello Ben May Alyssa Kubly
New Glarus Tanner Hofer Breanne Kreklow
Ryan Kuhlmeier Sam Buss
Stockton Ty Harmston Kristin Wright